Meet Michelle

I'm passionate about helping students of all ages increase their confidence and reach their goals. I've spent the last decade working and teaching in educational settings including higher education, adult adult basic education, tutoring in a variety of subject areas, and teaching small groups in employment settings.  

Education

I received my Bachelor's of Arts in Sociology and Child Development from North Dakota State University and a Master's of Arts in Curriculum and Instruction from Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. I have a current Minnesota teaching license in 5th through 12th grade Social Studies.

Education

I received my Bachelor's of Arts in Sociology and Child Development from North Dakota State University and a Master's of Arts in Instruction from St. Mary's University of MN. I am a licensed Minnesota teacher in 5th - 12th grade grade Social Studies teaching.

Professional Career

Professional Career

I started my teaching career 15 years ago as an Education Assistant for Northeast Metro 916 at an alternative school for at-risk youth in Columbia Heights. Working in this role reinforced my passion for teaching which led me to pursue my Masters in Instruction and teaching license. After graduating, my interest in learning about other cultures led me to South Korea where I taught English to elementary and middle school students. When I returned to Minnesota, I worked as an Academic Advisor at Capella University for three years. My passion for helping students with diverse backgrounds create better futures for themselves led me to teaching ESL to adults at Metro North ABE, which I did for close to 7 years.

1/1

Personal

I was born and raised in Minnesota, specifically Eagan and Burnsville. I've also lived in Fargo, North Dakota and Winona, Minnesota while attending college, as well as South Korea while teaching there. I've been married to my husband, Dan, for 7 years, and we live in Golden Valley.

 

I grew up playing competitive soccer and played through college at NDSU. Much of my childhood revolved around soccer and I can't imagine having grown up any other way. I'm still very close friends with the girls I met playing soccer in elementary school. To stay active, I tried out an indoor cycling class a couple of years ago and soon transitioned to riding outdoors with Lifetime Fitness. I'm so glad I conquered my fears and gave that first class I try; it has become my new favorite adult sport! My favorite Minnesota routes so far are along the river in downtown Minneapolis, around Lake Minnetonka, and the Cannon Valley Trail. In my free time, I enjoy spending time with my husband and going on walks with our 12-year-old beagle, Pebbles. We love hiking up north in the fall and have been on many different trails between Duluth and Grand Marais. I also enjoy reading and love to bake and put a healthy spin on recipes. My sister and her family live in Apple Valley and my 94-year-old grandma and parents live in Eagan. I treasure spending time with them when our schedules align!